top of page

Shikhar Dhawan will lead, Deepak Chahar returns from injury: India's squad for 3 ODIs

The BCCI on Saturday announced Team India's squad for the upcoming ODI series against Zimbabwe, starting August 18. Shikhar Dhawan will lead the 15-man squad while regular skipper Rohit Sharma will be rested. Along with this, Deepak Chahar is also making a comeback to the team after a long injury.

Dhawan recently led India to a 3-0 win over West Indies in the ODI series, where several senior players like Rohit, Virat Kohli, and Jasprit Bumrah were rested. The selectors seem to be following the same pattern here as well. Rahul Tripathi has also been included in the team, and it will be interesting to see how he performs if given a chance. The return of Deepak Chahar means that the fast bowler all-rounder is fully fit.

Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, and Washington Sundar are also in the mix, and this will be an important opportunity for them to get some game time with the Indian team. Mohammad Siraj will lead the pace attack in the company of famous Krishna and Avesh Khan.

This will be an important series for Deepak Chahar to prove his fitness. He will also hope to play T20Is to claim a place in the squad for the T20 World Cup.

India squad for 3rd ODI: Shikhar Dhawan (capt), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Famous Krishna, Mohammad Siraj, Deepak Chahar.

14 views0 comments
bottom of page